We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Best Plasma Cutter Under $1000: 6 Picks for the Home and Farm Shop

Six air plasma cutters under $1000, compared on clean cut and sever ratings by input voltage, duty cycle, arc start, what is in the box and warranty.

Four plasma cutters under 1000 dollars shown as product cards with their Gear Scores: SILATU STC750P 64, ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 Pro 63, TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO 62, ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 Non-HF 62

This guide is for home, farm and fabrication shops that want to cut steel plate, sheet and pipe faster and cleaner than a grinder or torch, with an air plasma cutter under $1000. Every pick here has a non touch pilot arc for rusted and painted metal, and we compared them on clean cut and sever ratings by input voltage, duty cycle, arc start type, what ships in the box and the warranty in writing.

WeldGearLab earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall SILATU STC750P: 60% duty cycle at 75A on 220V, 5/8 inch clean cut, a 13 ft torch, an air pressure monitor and a 1 year warranty. Check price
  • Best Warranty ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 Pro: A stated 3 year warranty, 1/2 inch quality cut, and torch, air hose, clamp and regulator in the box. Check price
  • Best Non-HF ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 Non-HF: Blowback start with no high frequency interference, plus gouging and rust clean modes and a 2 year warranty. Check price
  • Only Safety Listing TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO: The only listing in our sample that states ETL certification, with cut ratings for both inputs. Check price

Compare the picks

Model Gear Score Output Clean cut Max or sever cut Duty cycle Arc start Warranty
SILATU STC750P 64 15 to 45A (110V), up to 75A (220V) 5/8 in (220V) 1 in (220V) 60% at 75A (220V) HF pilot arc 1 year
ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 Pro 63 55A 1/2 in 3/4 in Not stated HF pilot arc 3 years
TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO 62 20 to 50A 1/4 in (110V), 5/8 in (220V) 1/2 in (110V), 3/4 in (220V) 60% (amperage not stated) HF pilot arc Not stated
ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 Non-HF 62 20 to 35A (110V), 20 to 60A (220V) 3/4 in 1-1/16 in Not stated Blowback, non-HF 2 years
LOTOS LTP8500 52 15 to 85A (bullets), 15 to 63A (table) 1 in (bullets), 3/4 in (table) 1.5 in (bullets), 1 in (table) 60% at 63A, 40 C Blowback, non-HF Support only
Bestarc CUT55P 51 35A (110V), 55A (220V) 1/2 in to 5/8 in 1/2 in (110V), 3/4 in (220V) Not stated HF pilot arc Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 4 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, the table shows both.

The picks

Award Product LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›
SILATU 75A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc SILATU 75A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc 64/100 Buy
ARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Pro Plasma Cutter ARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Pro Plasma Cutter 63/100 Buy
TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter 62/100 Buy
ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter Machine ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter Machine 62/100 Buy
LOTOS LTP8500 85AMP Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma LOTOS LTP8500 85AMP Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma 52/100 Buy
Bestarc 55A Plasma Cutter Machine,Pilot Arc Bestarc 55A Plasma Cutter Machine,Pilot Arc 51/100 Buy
1
SILATU 75A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU 75A Plasma Cutter, Non-Touch Pilot Arc

SILATU · 64/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 75A dual voltage pilot arc cutter with a stated 60% duty cycle at 75A on 220V and a 5/8 inch clean cut.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • States a 60% duty cycle at 75A on 220V
  • Output stated per input: 15 to 45A on 110V, up to 75A on 220V
  • Built in air sensor shows pressure on screen and warns when it is out of range
  • 13 ft AG60P torch and a 1 year warranty with lifetime tech support

Cons

  • Cut ratings given for 220V only
  • Air hose in the box is only 3.3 ft
  • No CSA, UL or ETL listing stated
  • Recommends 70 PSI, which needs a capable compressor
2
ARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Pro Plasma Cutter

ARCCAPTAIN iControl CUT55 Pro Plasma Cutter

ARCCAPTAIN · 63/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 55A dual voltage pilot arc cutter with a 3 year warranty, app control and a ready to connect regulator and filter.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • 3 year warranty in the listing
  • 10 ft AG60 torch, 10 ft air hose, 10 ft earth clamp and power adapter in the box
  • Pre installed air filter and pressure regulator
  • Post blow time set automatically by current, 5 to 10 seconds

Cons

  • Cut ratings do not say which input voltage they apply to
  • No duty cycle rating in the listing
  • Mentions ANSI certification, which is not a CSA, UL or ETL safety listing
  • App control is a convenience most cutting jobs do not need
3
TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

TOOLIOM 50A Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma Cutter

TOOLIOM · 62/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 50A dual voltage pilot arc cutter with cut ratings for both inputs and the only stated ETL certification in our sample.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • The only listing in our sample that states ETL certification
  • Cut ratings for both inputs: 1/4 inch clean on 110V, 5/8 inch clean on 220V
  • Most owner ratings in our plasma sample, listed since 2020
  • Post flow of 5 to 20 seconds to cool consumables

Cons

  • No warranty term in the listing
  • Duty cycle given as 60% with no amperage
  • Included components field lists only the plasma cutter
  • Weight stated as 13.23 lb in the bullets and 21.6 lb in the table
4
ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter Machine

ARCCAPTAIN 60A Non-HF Plasma Cutter Machine

ARCCAPTAIN · 62/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 60A blowback start cutter with no high frequency interference, gouging and rust clean modes, and a 2 year warranty.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Non-HF blowback start avoids interference with nearby electronics
  • Four modes: plate, expanded metal, rust and paint clean, and gouging
  • 13.12 ft IPT60 torch, 10 ft air hose, 10 ft clamp, spare nozzles and electrodes
  • 2 year warranty in the listing

Cons

  • No duty cycle rating in the listing
  • Cut range given as a span per input, not as clean versus sever
  • Only 35A available on 110V
  • First listed in November 2025
5
LOTOS LTP8500 85AMP Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma

LOTOS LTP8500 85AMP Non-Touch Pilot Arc Plasma

LOTOS · 52/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

The highest rated output here, with a duty cycle stated at a review temperature, but a listing that disagrees with itself on power and cut ratings.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Duty cycle stated with amperage and temperature: 60% at 63A at 104 F
  • Blowback non-HF pilot arc
  • Optional drag cut shields for following templates
  • Air check mode and ground connection indicator

Cons

  • Bullets say 15 to 85A, 1 inch clean and 1.5 inch sever; the table says 15 to 63A, 3/4 inch clean and 1 inch max
  • Bullets say 220 to 240V single phase, the table says 110V/220V
  • No warranty term, only US based setup support
  • 40.8 lb, twice the weight of most picks here
6
Bestarc 55A Plasma Cutter Machine,Pilot Arc

Bestarc 55A Plasma Cutter Machine,Pilot Arc

bestarc · 51/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A low priced 55A pilot arc cutter that states its cut ratings, air pressure and breaker size for each input.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • States breaker size per input: up to 40A at 110V, up to 30A at 220V
  • Maximum cut by input: 1/2 inch at 35A on 110V, 3/4 inch at 55A on 220V
  • Built in regulator and filter with a 1/4 inch NPT quick connector
  • Adjustable pilot arc time up to 15 seconds and post flow from 3 to 15 seconds

Cons

  • No warranty term in the listing
  • No duty cycle rating in the listing
  • Clean cut stated as both 1/2 inch and 5/8 inch in the same listing
  • Few owner ratings so far

How we scored them

Each cutter is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product Gear Score Perf. Build Value Safety Warranty
SILATU STC750P 64 25 15 17 0 7
ARCCAPTAIN CUT55 Pro 63 22 16 15 0 10
TOOLIOM CUT-50 PRO 62 21 12 17 12 0
ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 Non-HF 62 22 16 15 0 9
LOTOS LTP8500 52 23 14 13 0 2
Bestarc CUT55P 51 20 13 18 0 0

Buying guide: what matters in a plasma cutter under $1000

Clean cut versus sever cut

A clean or quality cut is the thickest metal the cutter handles with a usable edge at a reasonable speed. A sever or maximum cut only separates the metal, slowly, with dross to grind off. Buy for the clean cut rating at the thickness you cut most, and treat the sever figure as a limit, not a working number.

Ratings on 110V

Five of the six advertise 110V and 220V input, and most of the headline numbers assume 220V. Only TOOLIOM gives a 110V clean cut, 1/4 inch, and Bestarc, ARCCAPTAIN’s CUT60 and SILATU state reduced output on 110V. If your main work is 3/8 inch and up, plan on a 220V or 240V circuit installed by a licensed electrician.

Duty cycle

Of the 14 plasma listings we looked at, only 2 stated a duty cycle with an amperage: SILATU at 60% at 75A on 220V and LOTOS at 60% at 63A at 104 F. Several others say 60% with no amperage, which cannot be compared. For long straight cuts on thick plate, a stated figure matters.

HF or blowback start

Most of these use a high frequency pilot arc. HF starts reliably but can disturb nearby computers, CNC controllers and other electronics. The ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 and LOTOS LTP8500 use a blowback start without HF, a better choice near sensitive equipment.

Air supply

Every cutter here needs an external compressor with clean, dry air, typically 50 to 75 PSI depending on the machine and input. Bestarc states about 250 liters per minute. Moisture and oil shorten consumable life and spoil cuts, so add a dryer or filter at the compressor if the cutter’s built in filter is small.

Warranty and safety listings

Across the 14 listings, 9 stated a warranty term and 1 stated an electrical safety certification, TOOLIOM’s ETL. Among the picks, ARCCAPTAIN’s CUT55 Pro has the longest term at 3 years.

Cutting safety. Plasma cutting throws sparks and molten metal and produces intense light and fumes. Use a shade 5 to 9 lens or helmet as the manual specifies, gloves, flame resistant clothing and good ventilation, and keep the work area clear of anything that can burn. Disconnect power before changing consumables. See the OSHA welding and cutting overview and our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

How thick can a plasma cutter under $1000 cut?

Clean cut ratings among these picks run from 1/4 inch on 110V to 3/4 inch on 220V, with LOTOS claiming up to 1 inch in its bullets. Sever ratings run higher, up to 1.5 inch claimed, but sever cuts are slow and rough.

Can I run a plasma cutter on 110V?

Yes, every pick lists 110V or 120V input except possibly the LOTOS, whose bullets say 220 to 240V only. Expect much less output on 110V. Bestarc states it needs up to a 40A breaker at 110V, more than a typical household circuit.

What size air compressor do I need for a plasma cutter?

Check the pressure and flow the cutter asks for. These listings ask for 50 to 75 PSI, and Bestarc states 250 liters per minute, about 9 CFM. A compressor that cannot keep up will cause sputtering and short consumable life.

Is a plasma cutter better than an oxy-acetylene torch?

For sheet and plate up to about 3/4 inch, plasma is faster, cuts stainless and aluminum, and needs no fuel gas cylinders. An oxy-fuel torch cuts thicker steel and also heats and brazes, but cannot cut stainless or aluminum cleanly.

Can a plasma cutter work as a gouger?

Some can. The ARCCAPTAIN CUT60 Non-HF lists a gouging mode for removing old welds, with a nozzle change. The other listings do not mention gouging.

Related: best multi-process welder for plasma combo machines, best stick welder for farm use, and the plasma cutters hub.

About the author

WeldGearLab Editorial
WeldGearLab Editorial

WeldGearLab Editorial is the editorial team behind WeldGearLab. We research product listings, specifications, safety listings and warranty terms, score every pick with the published Gear Score method, and correct errors when readers report them. We do not run shop tests; see How We Pick for exactly how picks are made.