We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Best Stick Welder for Farm Use: 6 Picks for Fence, Gate and Equipment Repair

Six inverter stick welders for fence, gate and equipment repair on the farm, compared on output by input voltage, rods, cable length and warranty.

Four stick welders for farm use shown as product cards with their Gear Scores: ARCCAPTAIN ARC205 63, Lincoln Weld-Pak 225i 59, YESWELDER ARC-205DS 50, VEVOR 200A Stick 49

This guide is for farmers, ranchers and rural homeowners who need a stick welder for the repairs that come with the land: fence posts, gates, brackets, trailer frames and worn implements, often outdoors and often on rusty or painted steel. Stick welding needs no gas and copes with wind and dirty metal better than wire feed. We compared these machines on output by input voltage, duty cycle, the rods each listing names, lead length and the warranty in writing.

WeldGearLab earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall ARCCAPTAIN ARC205: Output stated for each input, 150A on 120V and 205A on 240V, setup by rod size or thickness, and a 3 year warranty. Check price
  • Best Heavy Duty Lincoln Weld-Pak 225i: The only stated duty cycle here, 30% at 225A on 230V, and 5/16 inch steel in a single pass. Check price
  • Best With TIG Torch YESWELDER ARC-205DS: Stick and Lift TIG with the TIG torch in the box, plus 10 ft leads. Check price
  • Best Budget Dual Voltage VEVOR 200A Stick: Output stated for each input, 120A on 110V and 200A on 220V, with VRD and a list of rods from E6010 to E7018. Check price

Compare the picks

Model Gear Score Output on 120V Output on 240V Duty cycle Rods named Weight Warranty
ARCCAPTAIN ARC205 63 20 to 150A 20 to 205A Not stated 6010, 6011, 6013, 7018 8.2 lb (bullets), 14.52 lb (table) 3 years
Lincoln Weld-Pak 225i 59 Not stated 10 to 225A (230V) 30% at 225A (230V) Not stated 20 lb (bullets), 25 lb (table) Not stated
YESWELDER ARC-205DS PRO 50 Not stated Up to 205A Not stated 6010, 6011, 6013, 7018 8.4 lb (bullets), 15 lb (table) Not stated
VEVOR 200A Stick 49 120A max 200A max Not stated E6010, E6011, E6013, E7014, E7018 12.7 lb Not stated
Hpoouo ARC-200 42 20 to 200A (110V only) No 240V input Not stated E6010, E6011, E6013, E7018, E308, 1/16 to 1/8 in 3.7 lb (bullets), 7.85 lb (table) Support promise only
SOARFLY MMA-250 40 Not stated Not stated, adapter not included Not stated E6010, E6013, E7018, E308-16, 3/32 to 1/8 in About 3.7 kg (bullets), 9.02 lb (table) Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 4 October 2026. Where a listing states a figure two ways, the table shows both.

The picks

Award Product LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›
ARCCAPTAIN 205A Stick Welder ARCCAPTAIN 205A Stick Welder 63/100 Buy
Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick Welder Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick Welder 59/100 Buy
YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder ARC Welding Machine YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder ARC Welding Machine 50/100 Buy
VEVOR Stick Welder, 200Amp 2 in 1 ARC/Lift Tig VEVOR Stick Welder, 200Amp 2 in 1 ARC/Lift Tig 49/100 Buy
Hpoouo 200Amp 20PCS Rods Stick Welder Hpoouo 200Amp 20PCS Rods Stick Welder 42/100 Buy
SOARFLY Stick Welder, 110V/220V Dual Voltage SOARFLY Stick Welder, 110V/220V Dual Voltage 40/100 Buy
1
ARCCAPTAIN 205A Stick Welder

ARCCAPTAIN 205A Stick Welder

ARCCAPTAIN · 63/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 205A dual voltage stick and Lift TIG inverter that states its output on each input and carries a 3 year warranty.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Output stated per input: 20 to 150A on 120V, 20 to 205A on 240V
  • Sets current from the rod diameter or the plate thickness you choose
  • 10 ft electrode holder and ground clamp, 10 E6013 rods and a 240V to 120V adapter in the box
  • 3 year warranty in the listing

Cons

  • No duty cycle rating in the listing
  • Mentions FCC and ANSI reviews, which are not a CSA, UL or ETL safety listing
  • Weight stated as 8.2 lb in the bullets and 14.52 lb in the table
  • Lift TIG torch not included
2
Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick Welder

Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick Welder

Lincoln Electric · 59/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 10 to 225A dual voltage DC stick and Touch Start TIG inverter with a stated 30% duty cycle at 225A and 13 ft leads.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • States a 30% duty cycle at 225A on 230V input
  • Rated for 12 gauge sheet up to 5/16 inch steel in a single pass
  • 13 ft work cable and 13 ft electrode cable, the longest leads here
  • Input cable with a 6-50P plug and a 5-15P adapter, plus a tool box top

Cons

  • No warranty term in the listing
  • No output figure for 120V input
  • TIG accessories sold separately
  • No rods named in the listing
3
YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder ARC Welding Machine

YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder ARC Welding Machine

YESWELDER · 50/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A 205A dual voltage stick welder that ships with a Lift TIG torch and 10 ft leads.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Lift TIG torch included
  • 10 ft electrode holder and 10 ft ground clamp
  • Names 6010, 6011, 6013 and 7018 rods
  • Automatic compensation for voltage fluctuation, useful on long barn runs

Cons

  • No warranty term in the listing
  • No duty cycle and no 110V output figure
  • Weight stated as just under 8.4 lb in the bullets and 15 lb in the table
  • The 220V to 110V adapter is marked for AC power only
4
VEVOR Stick Welder, 200Amp 2 in 1 ARC/Lift Tig

VEVOR Stick Welder, 200Amp 2 in 1 ARC/Lift Tig

VEVOR · 49/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A low priced 200A stick and Lift TIG inverter that states its maximum output on each input and lists VRD.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • States maximum output per input: 120A on 110V, 200A on 220V
  • Automatic 110V and 220V switching
  • Names E6010, E6011, E6013, E7014 and E7018 rods
  • VRD, hot start, arc force and anti stick

Cons

  • No warranty term in the listing
  • No duty cycle rating in the listing
  • The box lists one welding rod and no lead lengths
  • Lift TIG torch not included
5
Hpoouo 200Amp 20PCS Rods Stick Welder

Hpoouo 200Amp 20PCS Rods Stick Welder

Hpoouo · 42/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A very small 110V stick welder with 20 rods, gloves and two chipping hammers, the most owner ratings in our sample.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Most owner ratings of any stick welder in our sample
  • 20 rods, a pair of gloves and two chipping hammers in the box
  • Explains rod polarity for acid and basic rods in the listing
  • Small enough for a toolbox, 7.8 x 3.9 x 5.3 inches

Cons

  • 110V only
  • Rods limited to 1/16 to 1/8 inch, and rated for 0.06 to 0.2 inch material
  • No warranty term, only 24 hour customer service
  • Weight stated as 3.7 lb in the bullets and 7.85 lb in the table
6
SOARFLY Stick Welder, 110V/220V Dual Voltage

SOARFLY Stick Welder, 110V/220V Dual Voltage

SOARFLY · 40/100 LAT Score About the Gear ScoreThe LAT Score is our own rating from 0 to 10, based on performance, design and build, ease of use, and value. It reflects independent research and is never influenced by manufacturers, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›

A light dual voltage stick welder rated at 250A, for 3/32 to 1/8 inch rods, whose listing says the 220V adapter is not included.

Updated: Oct 5, 2026 About this updateLast updated on Oct 5, 2026 / Affiliate links, product images, titles, and pricing data may be provided through the Amazon Creators API, Impact Integrations, CJ API, Awin API, FlexOffers API, or similar tools from our affiliate partners. Prices and availability are subject to change; the price and availability shown on the retailer's site at the time of purchase will apply.

Pros

  • Automatic 110V and 220V detection
  • Names E6010, E6013, E7018 and E308-16 rods
  • Hot start, arc force and anti stick
  • About 3.7 kg with a built in handle

Cons

  • 220V use needs an adapter that is not included
  • Rods limited to 3/32 to 1/8 inch despite the 250A rating
  • Included components field lists only the welding machine, though the title mentions 10 rods
  • No warranty term and no duty cycle in the listing

How we scored them

Each machine is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing, which is why the Lincoln, with the best capacity figures here but no warranty term in its listing, lands second.

Product Gear Score Perf. Build Value Safety Warranty
ARCCAPTAIN ARC205 63 22 14 17 0 10
Lincoln Weld-Pak 225i 59 27 18 14 0 0
YESWELDER ARC-205DS 50 18 15 17 0 0
VEVOR 200A Stick 49 20 12 17 0 0
Hpoouo ARC-200 42 12 11 17 0 2
SOARFLY MMA-250 40 14 10 16 0 0

Buying guide: what matters in a farm stick welder

Output on the outlet you have

Many farm repairs happen near a 120V barn outlet, while heavier work happens in a shop with 240V. Three listings here state their output on each input: ARCCAPTAIN at 150A on 120V and 205A on 240V, VEVOR at 120A on 110V and 200A on 220V, and Lincoln at 225A on 230V. Check the amperage range your rod maker gives for each rod size against the output you will actually have.

Duty cycle for long seams

Only 1 of the 14 stick welder listings in our first sample stated a duty cycle with an amperage: the Lincoln, at 30% at 225A on 230V, about 3 minutes in every 10 at full output. Most of these listings mention overheat protection, which stops the arc when the machine gets too hot, but only a stated duty cycle tells you how often that will happen.

Rods and rod size

Five of the six listings name the rods they suit, and most include 6010, 6011, 6013 and 7018, the common choices for farm repair. Two machines, the Hpoouo and SOARFLY, cap the rod size at 1/8 inch, which limits how heavy a joint they can take on. The Lincoln rates its capacity in thickness instead, up to 5/16 inch in a single pass.

Lead length and portability

Longer leads mean less moving the machine around a tractor or a trailer. The Lincoln ships with 13 ft cables, the ARCCAPTAIN and YESWELDER with 10 ft, and the others do not state lead length. Every pick here is a light inverter, from about 3.7 lb to 25 lb depending on which figure the listing uses.

Warranty and safety listings

In our first sample of 14 stick listings, 2 stated a warranty term and none stated a CSA, UL or ETL listing. The ARCCAPTAIN is the only pick with a stated term, 3 years.

Farm welding safety. Stick welding throws sparks and slag, so clear dry hay, straw and grass well away from the work and keep a charged extinguisher close. Never weld on fuel tanks, hydraulic lines or containers that held flammables. Wear a helmet with the right shade, leather gloves and flame resistant clothing, and keep the ground clamp close to the weld so current does not pass through bearings. See the OSHA welding overview and our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is stick welding better than MIG for farm repairs?

For outdoor repairs on rusty or painted steel, stick welding is often the more forgiving process: it needs no gas, works in wind and the rods are cheap to stock. Flux core MIG is faster on long seams. See our best flux core welder guide for the wire feed option.

Can I run a stick welder on a 120V outlet?

Yes, all six run on 110V or 120V, though most give less output there. ARCCAPTAIN states 150A on 120V and VEVOR 120A on 110V. Use a heavy gauge cord rated for the current and check the breaker your manual calls for.

What rod should I use for farm repairs?

6011 and 6010 dig through rust and paint, 6013 is easy to run on thin and clean steel, and 7018 gives strong welds on clean steel but needs dry storage. Most machines here list all four. Check the rod maker’s polarity and amperage range.

Can a 120V stick welder fix a trailer hitch?

Load bearing parts like hitches and safety chains should be welded or inspected by a certified welder. A home stick welder is fine for fences, gates, brackets and non structural repairs.

Do I need a TIG torch with a stick welder?

No. Lift TIG is an extra on most of these machines. The YESWELDER ARC-205DS is the only pick that includes the torch.

Related: best flux core welder, best multi-process welder, best welder for beginners, and the stick welders hub.

About the author

WeldGearLab Editorial
WeldGearLab Editorial

WeldGearLab Editorial is the editorial team behind WeldGearLab. We research product listings, specifications, safety listings and warranty terms, score every pick with the published Gear Score method, and correct errors when readers report them. We do not run shop tests; see How We Pick for exactly how picks are made.