We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Plasma Cutter for Metal: 5 Picks Scored for Shop and Garage (2026)

Five plasma cutters for metal, compared on output amperage, clean cut capacity, arc start mechanism, duty cycle, and the warranty each listing states.

Four plasma cutters for metal shown as product cards with their Gear Scores: PRIMEWELD CUT60 7.7/10, Reboot RBC6000D 6.8/10, LOTOS LT5000D 6.8/10, DNYKER CUT50 6.2/10

A plasma cutter for metal uses an electrically ionized gas arc to slice through conductive materials faster and cleaner than an oxy-fuel torch or mechanical saw. This guide compares five options on what each listing publishes: output amperage, clean cut capacity, arc start mechanism, duty cycle, and stated warranty. Whether cutting mild steel, stainless steel, or aluminum in a home garage, matching amperage and air supply to your material thickness is essential.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. WeldGearLab earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall PRIMEWELD CUT60: A 60A blowback pilot arc torch with Euro central connection, 60% duty cycle at 60A, and a stated 3-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Lightweight Inverter Reboot RBC6000D: A dual-voltage 60A machine stated at 8.69 lb with pre-installed regulator, cutting up to 5/8 inch at 240V, backed by a 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Stated Duty Cycle Pick LOTOS LT5000D: A 50A dual-voltage cutter with a stated 60% duty cycle at 50A, pre-installed NPT 1/4 inch plug, and 21.4 lb steel chassis. Check price on Amazon
  • Compact Pilot Arc DNYKER CUT50: A non-touch pilot arc cutter with digital display and stated 13 lb carry weight for rough or painted metal. Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Model Gear Score Output amps Input voltage Stated clean cut Arc start Duty cycle Warranty
PRIMEWELD CUT60 7.7/10 60A 110V/220V Not stated Blowback pilot arc 60% at 60A 3 years
Reboot RBC6000D 6.8/10 60A at 240V / 35A at 120V 120V/240V 1/2 in at 120V / 5/8 in at 240V Touch arc Not stated 1 year
LOTOS LT5000D 6.8/10 10-50A at 240V / 10-35A at 120V 120V or 240V 1/2 in at 240V / 1/3 in at 120V Not stated 60% at 50A None stated
DNYKER CUT50 6.2/10 50A 110V/220V 1/3 in at 110V / 2/5 in at 220V High-frequency pilot arc Not stated None stated
RIVERWELD Roller Guide 4.4/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Stand-off guide for pilot arc Not stated None stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 9 October 2026.

The picks

Award Product Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›
PRIMEWELD CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60 PRIMEWELD CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60 7.7/10 Check price on Amazon
Reboot 60A Plasma Cutter Dual Voltage 120V/240V Reboot 60A Plasma Cutter Dual Voltage 120V/240V 6.8/10 Check price on Amazon
LOTOS LT5000D Plasma Cutter LOTOS LT5000D Plasma Cutter 6.8/10 Check price on Amazon
Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage 6.2/10 Check price on Amazon
RIVERWELD SG-55 Plasma Cutter Roller Guide Wheel RIVERWELD SG-55 Plasma Cutter Roller Guide Wheel 4.4/10 Check price on Amazon
1
PRIMEWELD CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60

PRIMEWELD CUT60 60Amp Non-Touch Pilot Arc PT60

PRIMEWELD · 7.7/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60A dual-voltage plasma cutter featuring blowback non-touch pilot arc starting, a PT60 torch with Euro central connection, and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • Blowback pilot arc starts without high frequency interference
  • 60% duty cycle at 60A for continuous metal cutting
  • PT60 torch includes standard Euro central connection
  • Stated 3-year manufacturer warranty with USA customer support

Cons

  • Clean and severance cut thicknesses are not stated in the listing
  • Machine weight is not stated in the listing
  • No safety certification standard stated
  • Cabinet dimensions of 20 x 11 x 19 inches require dedicated shop space
2
Reboot 60A Plasma Cutter Dual Voltage 120V/240V

Reboot 60A Plasma Cutter Dual Voltage 120V/240V

Reboot · 6.8/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A portable dual-voltage 60A plasma cutter with pre-installed air regulator, PT31 torch, and a stated 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Stated 1-year warranty listed in included components
  • Pre-installed air regulator with front PSI guidance
  • Dual-voltage auto-detection for 120V and 240V circuits
  • States 1/2 inch cut on 120V and 5/8 inch cut on 240V

Cons

  • Weight contradiction: bullets state 8.69 lb while spec table lists 14.22 lb
  • Touch arc start requires contact with the metal to begin cutting
  • Duty cycle rating is not stated in the listing
  • No safety certification standard stated
3
LOTOS LT5000D Plasma Cutter

LOTOS LT5000D Plasma Cutter

LOTOS · 6.8/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50A dual-voltage cutter with a stated 60% duty cycle at 50A, pre-installed NPT 1/4 inch plug, and cooling fan system.

Pros

  • Stated 60% duty cycle at 50A at 104 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Pre-installed NPT 1/4 inch plug and air filter regulator
  • Automatic dual voltage on 110/120V and 220/240V
  • Stated cutting capability on stainless, alloy, mild steel, copper, and aluminum

Cons

  • Contradiction on clean cut: title says 5/8 inch while bullets state 1/2 inch on 240V
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
  • No safety certification standard stated
  • 21.4 pound weight is heavier than portable inverter units
4
Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage

Plasma Cutter, CUT50 50Amp 110V/220V Dual Voltage

DNYKER · 6.2/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50A non-touch pilot arc plasma cutter with digital display and compact portable chassis for 110V and 220V operation.

Pros

  • Non-touch pilot arc cuts painted and rusted metal surfaces
  • Dual-voltage operation on 110V and 220V with digital display
  • Internal protection for overheat, overcurrent, overload, and overvoltage
  • States operating air pressure between 60 and 70 PSI

Cons

  • Weight contradiction: bullets state 13 lb while spec table lists 19.51 lb
  • Thinnest maximum cut in the group at 12mm (4/8 in) on 220V
  • Duty cycle is not stated in the listing
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing
5
RIVERWELD SG-55 Plasma Cutter Roller Guide Wheel

RIVERWELD SG-55 Plasma Cutter Roller Guide Wheel

RIVERWELD · 4.4/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A torch stand-off attachment with 27mm inner diameter for maintaining consistent height on AG-60, SG-55, and WSD-60 torches.

Pros

  • Constructed from brass, zinc, and aluminum alloy
  • Maintains consistent stand-off distance for pilot arc starting
  • Fits AG-60, SG-55, and WSD-60 torch heads with 27mm inner diameter
  • Lightweight accessory at a stated 4.2 ounces

Cons

  • Torch accessory only, provides no cutting power source
  • Contradiction: bullets say no groove while spec table specifies with groove
  • Compatibility limited to specific 27mm torch shroud models
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing

How we scored them

Each listing is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of the listings publish an electrical safety certification such as UL or CSA, so every model here scores zero on that criterion; the overall ranking reflects the remaining four categories.

Product Gear Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
PRIMEWELD CUT60 7.7 30 21 21 0 4
Reboot RBC6000D 6.8 27 19 20 0 2
LOTOS LT5000D 6.8 28 21 21 0 0
DNYKER CUT50 6.2 23 19 20 0 0
RIVERWELD Roller Guide 4.4 12 15 18 0 0

Buying guide: how to choose a plasma cutter for metal

Cutting capacity and amperage

Amperage determines the thickness of metal a machine can sever or cleanly cut. A 50A or 60A machine running on a 240V circuit can handle mild steel up to 1/2 inch or 5/8 inch, with severance capacity up to 3/4 inch where stated. On a 120V household circuit, output is lower, typically between 30A and 35A, which reduces clean cutting capacity to 1/3 inch or 1/2 inch. Always compare the clean-cut thickness rather than maximum severance, because clean cuts leave minimal slag and need little edge grinding.

Pilot arc versus touch start

Arc initiation directly affects consumable life and versatility. Non-touch pilot arc torches, like those on the PRIMEWELD CUT60 and DNYKER CUT50, strike the cutting arc inside the torch head without needing direct electrical contact with the workpiece. This allows you to cut directly through rusted, painted, or expanded metal without grinding a clean contact spot first. Touch-start machines, such as the Reboot RBC6000D with its PT31 torch, require physical contact between the nozzle and the metal to initiate the arc.

Input voltage and shop power

Dual-voltage machines offer flexibility between standard household wall outlets and dedicated high-voltage circuits. Operating on 120V allows for mobile repairs, but the machine will draw higher input current and produce lower cutting power. Connecting to a 220V or 240V circuit unlocks the full 50A or 60A output needed for thicker metal fabrication. Check your shop breaker capacity before running at maximum output, as 60A cutting can require a 40A or 50A breaker depending on supply voltage.

Air compressor requirements

Plasma cutters require a steady supply of dry, oil-free compressed air to cool the torch and blow molten metal out of the cut kerf. The listings here specify operating pressures between 60 and 75 PSI, with compressor ratings of 90 PSI at 60 L/min or above. If your compressor cannot maintain continuous volume, air pressure drops, causing arc stutter and ragged cut edges. For portable setups, consider our guide to a plasma cutter with air compressor.

Duty cycle and cooling

Duty cycle specifies the proportion of continuous cutting time a machine can sustain at a specific amperage before thermal overload kicks in. The PRIMEWELD CUT60 and LOTOS LT5000D state a 60% duty cycle at their maximum output (60A and 50A, respectively), which supports serious fabrication runs. Inverter units with unstated duty cycles should be given regular cooling pauses between passes. For more details on calculating run time, see our breakdown on welding duty cycle explained.

Safety precautions

Use as directed. Plasma cutting produces intense optical radiation, high electrical voltage, hot molten dross, and hazardous metal fumes. Always wear proper eye protection with suitable shade filters, flame-resistant leather sleeves or jackets, and welding gloves. Provide adequate ventilation when cutting galvanized metal, stainless steel, or aluminum to prevent inhalation of toxic fumes. Keep air hoses and power cables clear of falling slag, ensure a solid electrical connection with a quality best welding ground clamp, and keep a fire extinguisher nearby. See the OSHA welding overview and our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a plasma cutter and how does it work on metal?

A plasma cutter uses a high-velocity jet of ionized gas, known as plasma, to conduct an electrical arc from the torch to the workpiece. The intense thermal energy melts the metal instantly, while the high-pressure compressed air stream blows the molten metal away to produce a clean kerf. It works on any electrically conductive metal, including mild steel, stainless steel, aluminum, copper, and brass.

Does a plasma cutter need an air compressor?

Yes, standard plasma cutting machines require an external supply of clean, dry compressed air. The compressed air both forms the plasma gas and blows molten dross out of the cut channel. Most machines operate with regulated air pressures between 60 and 75 PSI, requiring a shop compressor capable of delivering continuous volume.

Can a plasma cutter cut through painted or rusted metal?

Machines equipped with a non-touch pilot arc can cut directly through painted, rusty, or coated metals without hesitation. The pilot arc establishes the cutting stream before transferring to the base metal, eliminating the need to grind down to bare steel. Contact-start torches require bare metal contact to strike the arc, so painted surfaces may need prep work.

What amperage do I need to cut 1/2 inch steel?

Cutting 1/2 inch steel cleanly generally requires a 50A or 60A plasma cutter running on a 220V or 240V electrical supply. While some 35A machines list 1/2 inch under their maximum limits, cutting speed is slower and the edges will require more cleanup. Running a higher-amperage machine on 240V yields cleaner cut faces with less beveling.

How do I maintain clean cuts and prolong consumable life?

Clean cuts depend on correct air pressure, steady travel speed, and dry air free of moisture and oil. Moisture inside the air line erodes nozzles and electrodes quickly, resulting in wide or angled cut kerfs. Maintain proper torch stand-off distance and replace worn tips according to our advice on Cut 50 plasma cutter tips and plasma cutter consumables.

Related: plasma cutters hub, plasma cutter with air compressor, Cut 50 plasma cutter tips, plasma cutter consumables, metal fabrication tools hub, and our best welding ground clamp.

About the author

WeldGearLab Editorial
WeldGearLab Editorial

WeldGearLab Editorial is the editorial team behind WeldGearLab. We research product listings, specifications, safety listings and warranty terms, score every pick with the published Gear Score method, and correct errors when readers report them. We do not run our own shop trials; see How We Pick for exactly how picks are made.