We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Hobart Handler 210i vs Millermatic 211 PRO: Which 210A Dual-Voltage MIG?

The Hobart Handler 210i is the lighter, simpler machine with a written 5/3/1 warranty; the Millermatic 211 PRO adds pulse, Auto-Set and program memory for a higher price tier.

Four Hobart Handler 210i vs Millermatic 211 PRO MIG welder shown as product cards with their Gear Scores: Hobart Handler 210i 8.0/10, Millermatic 211 PRO 7.4/10

Verdict. In the Hobart Handler 210i vs Millermatic 211 PRO matchup, the Hobart is the better buy for most home and farm shops on what the listings state: 30 to 210A on 240V, 24 gauge to 3/8 in mild steel, 26 lb and a written 5/3/1 warranty in a lower price tier. The Millermatic 211 PRO earns its higher price only if you want pulse MIG, Auto-Set and program memory for stainless or aluminum work.

Both machines are 210A-class, dual-voltage MIG welders aimed at serious hobby, farm and small-shop buyers, and both plug into 120V or 240V without tools. The difference is in what sits on top of that basic package. Hobart keeps the 210i simple with infinite wire speed and voltage knobs and digital meters. Miller loads the 211 PRO with pulse, automatic setup and bead monitoring. This comparison works only from what each Amazon listing states, and flags what neither one tells you.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. WeldGearLab earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Hobart Handler 210i vs Millermatic 211 PRO side by side

Spec Hobart Handler 210i Millermatic 211 PRO
Input 120V or 240V, plug swap without tools 120V or 240V, MVP plug without tools
Output range 30 to 140A on 120V, 30 to 210A on 240V Not stated on the listing
Thickness stated 24 ga to 3/8 in mild steel, single pass Steel and aluminum to 3/8 in
Pulse MIG No Yes, Dyna-Pulse
Setup help Infinite wire speed and voltage, digital meters Auto-Set, Smooth-Start, BeadVision, program memory
Wire Quick Select drive roll, 3 grooves, solid and flux-cored Quick Select drive roll, .024 to .035 in
Aluminum SpoolRunner 100 spool gun, direct connect Spool gun auto-detect
Gun Not stated 15 ft MIG gun included
Weight 26 lb in bullets (39 lb in table) 47.6 lb
Duty cycle Not stated Not stated (only ‘higher duty cycle’)
Warranty stated 5/3/1 Not stated
Safety listing stated None None
Gear Score 70 55

Specifications are manufacturer stated, as published on each listing and collected 8 October 2026. Neither listing states a duty cycle with an amperage or a safety listing such as CSA or UL, so check the manual and the rating plate before you buy. The Hobart listing went live in August 2026 and had no ratings when collected.

The two machines

Award Product Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›
Hobart Handler 210i MIG Welder Hobart Handler 210i MIG Welder 8.0/10 Check price on Amazon
Millermatic 211 PRO MIG Welder Machine Millermatic 211 PRO MIG Welder Machine 7.4/10 Check price on Amazon
1
Hobart Handler 210i MIG Welder

Hobart Handler 210i MIG Welder

Hobart · 8.0/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 120V/240V MIG and flux core welder rated 30 to 140A on 120V and 30 to 210A on 240V, stated to weld 24 gauge to 3/8 in mild steel in a single pass, at 26 lb with a written 5/3/1 warranty.

Pros

  • 30 to 210A on 240V, 30 to 140A on 120V
  • 26 lb stated, light for a 210A machine
  • SpoolRunner 100 connects with no control box
  • 5/3/1 warranty stated in the title

Cons

  • No pulse or auto setup
  • Duty cycle not stated
  • Table weight of 39 lb disagrees with the 26 lb bullet
  • New listing with no ratings yet
2
Millermatic 211 PRO MIG Welder Machine

Millermatic 211 PRO MIG Welder Machine

Miller · 7.4/10 Gear Score About the Gear ScoreThe Gear Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 120/240V MIG welder with Dyna-Pulse, Auto-Set, Smooth-Start, BeadVision and program memory, stated to weld steel and aluminum to 3/8 in, with a 15 ft gun and spool gun auto-detect.

Pros

  • Dyna-Pulse MIG for steel, stainless and aluminum
  • Auto-Set and program memory speed up setup
  • Spool gun auto-detect, 15 ft gun included
  • USB-upgradable software

Cons

  • Amp range and duty cycle not stated on the listing
  • 47.6 lb, much heavier than the Hobart
  • No warranty terms on the listing
  • Higher price tier, under $2,000

Output and thickness

Hobart gives clear numbers: 30 to 140A on a 120V outlet and 30 to 210A on 240V. The listing says the machine welds 24 gauge sheet to 3/8 in mild steel in a single pass, and heavier material with multiple passes. That is the kind of statement you can plan a project around.

Miller’s listing does not print an amp range at all. It says the 211 PRO welds steel and aluminum up to 3/8 in, with aluminum on a spool gun. On paper both reach 3/8 in, but only the Hobart tells you the output that gets it there, and on which input voltage. If you plan to weld thick plate on a 120V circuit, neither machine will do it at full output; our 120V vs 240V welder guide explains why the 240V side matters for heavier steel.

Setup and arc control

This is where the Miller pulls ahead. Auto-Set picks starting settings for you, Smooth-Start is stated to cut spatter at arc starts, BeadVision gives real-time bead monitoring, and Program Memory saves and recalls your common settings. Dyna-Pulse MIG adds pulsed welding for mild steel, stainless and aluminum, and the software can be upgraded over USB.

The Hobart takes the classic route: infinite wire speed and voltage control with digital meters. You set both yourself, read the numbers, and adjust by sound and bead shape. Some welders prefer that, because there is less to go wrong and the settings are easy to repeat once you have them written down. A beginner who wants the machine to suggest settings will find the Miller easier to start on.

Aluminum and spool guns

Both machines run aluminum with a spool gun. The Hobart listing names the SpoolRunner 100 and says it connects directly with no control box or adapter, and that the spool gun reduces bird-nesting with soft aluminum wire. The Miller listing says the machine auto-detects the spool gun. Neither listing says a spool gun is in the box, so price one in if aluminum is the reason you are buying. For a dedicated aluminum machine, also look at our best TIG welder for aluminum picks.

Weight and portability

Hobart states 26 lb in the bullets, although the listing table shows 39 lb, which may include packaging. Miller lists 47.6 lb. Either way, the Hobart is the one you carry to a trailer or a fence line without a cart. The Miller includes a 15 ft MIG gun, which helps reach around a big project once the machine is parked.

Warranty and listing details

The Hobart title states a 5/3/1 warranty. The Miller listing does not print warranty terms, so it scores zero for warranty under our method even though the brand has its own warranty program; ask the seller and check Miller’s site before buying. The Miller listing table also lists the power source as fuel powered, which is plainly a data error on a plug-in welder.

Duty cycle is missing on both. The Miller listing only says it lets you weld longer with a higher duty cycle, without a percentage or amperage. Our welding duty cycle explained guide shows how to read the figure once you find it in the manual.

How we scored them

Both machines are scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety listing and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The Miller wins performance on pulse and setup features. The Hobart wins value and is the only one with written warranty terms on the listing. Neither states a safety listing, so both score zero there.

Product Gear Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Hobart Handler 210i 8.0 30 22 22 0 4
Millermatic 211 PRO 7.4 33 22 19 0 0

Before you strike an arc. Wear a helmet with the right shade for the process and amperage, keep combustibles clear of the work, and run the 240V side only on a circuit sized for the machine, as the manual specifies.

Which one should you buy?

  • Buy the Hobart Handler 210i if you weld mild steel at home or on the farm, move the machine around, and want stated output numbers and a written warranty in a lower price tier.
  • Buy the Millermatic 211 PRO if you weld stainless or aluminum often, want pulse MIG, or like a machine that suggests and remembers settings, and the higher price tier fits.

If neither fits the budget, our best MIG welder under $1,000 list covers more dual-voltage options, and our Hobart vs Lincoln MIG welder comparison looks at the 120V end of the market.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Hobart Handler 210i the same as the Handler 210 MVP?

The 210i listing is a separate model, number 500588, first listed in August 2026. It states 30 to 210A on 240V, 26 lb and spool gun connection without a control box. Compare its listing with any 210 MVP you see rather than assuming the parts and features match.

Does the Millermatic 211 PRO weld aluminum?

Yes, with a spool gun. The listing says it welds aluminum up to 3/8 in, supports pulse on aluminum and auto-detects the spool gun. A spool gun is not listed as included, so budget for one.

Which is better for a beginner?

The Miller is easier to start on because Auto-Set chooses starting settings and Program Memory saves them. The Hobart asks you to set wire speed and voltage yourself, which takes a little longer to learn but costs less. Our how to choose a MIG welder guide walks through that trade-off.

Can both run on a 120V household outlet?

Yes, both are dual voltage and switch plugs without tools. The Hobart states 30 to 140A on 120V. The Miller listing does not give its 120V output, so check the manual for the range on each input.

What duty cycle do these welders have?

Neither listing states a duty cycle with an amperage. Check the rating plate or the manual for both before buying, especially if you plan long runs on thick steel.

Related: all our MIG welders, best MIG welder under $1,000 and how to choose a MIG welder.

About the author

WeldGearLab Editorial
WeldGearLab Editorial

WeldGearLab Editorial is the editorial team behind WeldGearLab. We research product listings, specifications, safety listings and warranty terms, score every pick with the published Gear Score method, and correct errors when readers report them. We do not run our own shop trials; see How We Pick for exactly how picks are made.